Manohar Parrikar wins floor test in Goa Assembly, gets support of 22 MLAs

Manohar Parrikar won in floor test


Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar wins floor test in the state Assembly on Thursday, proving majority. Manohar Parrikar, who was sworn-in along with nine ministers on Tuesday, received support of 22 legislators, two more than the halfway mark of 20 in the 40-member Assembly. The floor test was conducted on the direction of the Supreme Court. 16 MLAs voted against the BJP during the floor test.

Manohar Parrikar wins floor test

Manohar Parrikar, whose Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has 13 MLAs, had staked claim to form the government in Goa on Sunday mustering the support of the Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP) besides two Independents, which together took the tally of the combine to 21. Another Independent MLA had extended his support to the coalition yesterday, raising its number to 22.

The Congress, which emerged as the single largest party in the state polls, had alleged that Governor Mridula Sinha did not give the party a chance to form the government.

See Also : Manohar Parrikar takes oath as Goa CM, says no MLA wanted to support Congress

Manohar Parrikar quit as the defence minister of India, a post he had been holding since November 2014 after first reshuffle of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Cabinet. At that time, he was serving his second term as the Chief Minister of Goa.

The BJP, which won 13 seats in the 40-member Goa Assembly, managed to garner support from other parties and independents to attain majority under Parrikar. Three MLAs of the Goa Forward Party, three of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and two independents have pledged their support to Parrikar.

You might also like More from author