LK Advani to replace Pranab Mukherjee as the President of India?

LK Advani to replace Pranab Mukherjee


Prime Minister Narendra Modi has proposed the name of veteran Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader LK Advani to replace Pranab Mukherjee to be the next President of India. According to media reports, PM Narendra Modi has himself proposed the name of LK Advani for the country’s second most coveted job, during a party meeting in Gujarat’s Somnath. Notably, LK Advani, BJP national president Amit Shah and Keshubhai Patel were also present at the meeting.

LK Advani

Prime Minister Narendra Modi reportedly said the President’s post would be a ‘guru dakshina’ for LK Advani. The statement was made by the Prime Minister at Somnath Trust meeting in Somnath. LK Advani started his rath yatra to Ayodhya in 1992 from Somnath. Though Advani’s dream of becoming Prime Minister could not be fulfilled, the 89-year-old leader now may become the President of the country. Advani also stood by Modi in the times of crisis.

With its spectacular victory in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, the BJP-led NDA is now so close to the majority mark for the presidential election. The BJP may seek the support of the AIADMK or the BJD to send its nominee at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Earlier there were speculations that megastar Amitabh Bachchan would replace Pranab Mukherjee, but the possibility was ruled out after his name surfaced in Panama Papers scandal. Another speculation was that NCP leader Sharad Pawar would be chosen for the second most important job. No decision has been taken yet. President Pranab Mukherjee’s term as President of India will end in July.

With the BJP and its ally Apna Dal winning 321 of the 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 30 seats in Manipur, 57 of the 70 seats in Uttarakhand, and 13 seats in Goa, the the BJP led NDA is now so close to the halfway mark of 549442 votes in the electoral college. The NDA is now short of just 25,354 votes to get its own candidate as the next President. The total strength of the electoral college that elects the President is 10,98,882 votes.

You might also like More from author