India’s 15-man squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 announced

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 india Player List


Indian cricket team for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy in England has been announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 india Player List

Following are the players selected for the tournament: Virat Kohli(C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jhadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah & Manish Pandey.

Reserved Players: Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik.

After a period of uncertainty, the BCCI had on Sunday finally confirmed India’s participation in ICC Champions Trophy 2017. While rest of the participating boards have already announced their squads abiding by the April 25 deadline, BCCI had been involved in a tussle with the International Cricket Council, leading to the delay.

The bone of contention was ICC’s new financial model which saw India’s revenue cut down from $570 million to from $293 million and forced BCCI to consider pulling out from the Champions Trophy resulting in the delay in naming the squad.

However, BCCI conducted a super general meeting on Sunday and cleared India’s participation for Champions Trophy. While it remains to be seen if the battle between the BCCI and the ICC is heading towards a truce, for now the Indian board wants to take it easy.

Check out the BCCI tweet regarding the squad here:

India are the defending champions at the tournament and they are eyeing to retain the trophy. India and Pakistan are once again paired in the same group with South Africa and Sri Lanka the other two. While Australia, England, New Zealand and Bangladesh are in group A. The men in blue” will take on Pakistan in their opening match of Champions Trophy 2017, on June 4.

Also, before Virat Kohli’s men take on Pakistan in a high-intensity encounter in their opening clash, India will play two warm-up matches against New Zealand (28 May) and Bangladesh (30 May).

Full Schedule:

1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval

2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston

3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval

4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston

5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval

6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff

7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston

8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval

9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff

10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston

11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval

12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff

14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff

15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston

18 June – Final, The Oval

19 June – Reserve day