Farooq Abdullah wins battle of prestige in Jammu and Kashmir

Farooq Abdullah wins


Former Chief Minister and National Conference president Farooq Abdullah emerged victorious in the Srinagar Lok Sabha by-poll elections. The counting of votes of the by-poll began around 8 am in the morning and the early trends gave an edge to the National Conference president.

Srinagar Bye-election Results 2017

The Srinagar by-poll election was considered to be a direct contest between Farooq Abdullah and (PDP) candidate Nazir Ahmad Khan. A total of 9 contestants were in the fray. Considered as a matter of prestige for the former chief minister, the polling for the by-poll elections was marked by violence and low voter turnout.

The polling held on April 9 witnessed clashes between the protesters and security forces that led to the killing of eight people in police firing and the clash left over a hundred injured. A mere 7 percent voter turnout was recorded in the by-poll election.

The voting was again conducted for the second time on Thursday. During the second time, only 2 percent voters turned up for voting. Out of the 35,169 people, only 702 people voted in the by-poll election. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Farooq Abdullah had lost the seat to PDP’s Hameed Karra.

See Also : 2.02% voting recorded in Budgam where re-polling took place for Srinagar Lok Sabha bye-election

The Srinagar seat fell vacant after the resignation of PDP leader Tariq Hameed Karra against the ‘atrocities’ on people during the agitation in the valley after the killing of Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani. Apart from resigning from the party, Karra also resigned from the Lok Sabha and later joined Congress. In the by-poll elections, Karra supported Farooq Abdullah for the Srinagar seat.

The counting of votes of the Srinagar by-poll was conducted at Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre. The counting of migrant votes was conducted in Udhampur, New Delhi and Jammu.

You might also like More from author